Home Press Release Eight (8) Full Blown Guerilla Fronts dismantled; Davao De Oro now Insurgency-Free

Eight (8) Full Blown Guerilla Fronts dismantled; Davao De Oro now Insurgency-Free


MAWAB, Davao De Oro – The Provincial Local Government Unit of Davao De Oro, together with the 10th Infantry “Agila” Division officially declared the province of Davao De Oro as Insurgency-Free during a ceremony held at Provincial Capitol Grounds, Cabidianan, Nabunturan on Wednesday afternoon, June 22, 2022.

The official declaration follows after the eight (8) full-blown guerilla fronts of the Communist Terrorist Groups (CTGs) previously operating in the province were now all dismantled and destroyed. Guerilla Front 27 was dismantled in 2018, followed by Guerilla Front 15, and GF 34 in 2019. Likewise, Guerilla Front 33 was dismantled in 2020, and the Guerilla Front North in 2021. In 2022, Guerilla Front 3, Guerilla Front 2 which is one of the oldest guerilla fronts in Mindanao, and the Sub-Regional Guerilla Unit (SRGU) were also declared dismantled and destroyed, respectively.

Likewise, the recent notable defeat of the CTGs in Davao De Oro were the neutralization of Menandro Villanueva alias “Bok”, the highest-ranking CTG leader in Mindanao; the surrender of Guerilla Front 3 Secretary Maximo Catarata alias “SM”; and the surrender of Guerilla Front 2 Secretary Rosefel Movera, alias “Dandan”.

From 2016 to 2022, 10ID units in Davao De Oro figured 159 armed encounters which resulted in 42 killed CNTs; 619 surrendered; 103 captured; 776 firearms recovered; and the cooptation of 1,248 NPAs in the barangays, and more than 6,000 members of the Underground Mass Organizations (UGMOs). Moreover, about 145 People’s Organizations (POs) with 7,722 members mostly former rebels and mass supporters benefited from various programs and projects from the province which eventually helped them uplift their social and economic status as part of the re-integration program of the province.

In his message, Agila Division Commander Major General Nolasco A Mempin said that the total defeat of the CTG in Davao De Oro is attributed not only to the dedication and aggressiveness of the commanders on the ground but to the strong leadership of the province. “The activation of the NTF-ELCAC in 2018, and the local its version, “OPLAN PAGBABAGO” hastened the coordination among stakeholders, thereby isolating the CTGs from the masses. The leadership provided by Governor Uy as chairperson of the PTF-ELCAC contributed immensely to the smooth delivery of basic services, especially in the implementation of the Barangay Development Programs (BDP),” MGen Mempin added.

Also present during the activity were the National Security Adviser General Hermogenes C Esperon Jr (Ret); former Commander 10ID and appointed Officer-in-Charge of the Department of National Defense (DND) Secretary, General Jose C Faustino Jr (Ret); Eastern Mindanao Command (EMC) Commander Lieutenant General Greg T Almerol; 1001Bde Commander BGEN Jesus Durante III; 701Bde Commander BGEN Oliver Maquiling, Battalion Commanders of 25IB, 28IB, 60IB, 67IB, 66IB, 48IB; and other key stakeholders.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version