CAMP AGUINALDO, Quezon City – The Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), General Benjamin R Madrigal Jr and 50 other newly-promoted Generals and Flag Officers took oath before President Rodrigo Duterte, Monday afternoon at the Rizal Hall, Malacañan Palace.

The 50 officers were composed of four (4) Lieutenant Generals and Vice Admiral, 17 Major General and Rear Admiral, and 29 Brigadier Generals and Commodore. The oath-taking ceremony indicates the renewal of commitment to the Chain of Command and the Constitution by top military officers holding vital positions in the military organization.

Following Monday’s ceremony, the 50 Generals and Flag Officers rendered the traditional courtesy call at the AFP Commissioned Officers Club in Camp Aguinaldo, Tuesday morning. The Vice Chief of Staff, Lieutenant General Salvador Melchor B Mison Jr who represented the AFP Chief of Staff presided over the activity. The courtesy call is a customary gesture of respect, loyalty, and adherence to the AFP Chain of Command.

Present in the oath-taking ceremony in Malacañang were Unified Commanders who recently received their third star.  These were Lieutenant Generals Noel S Clement, Commander of Central Command; Felimon T Santos Jr, Commander of Eastern Mindanao Command; Gilbert I Gapay, Commander of Southern Luzon Command; and Vice Admiral Rene V Medina, Commander of Western Command.

Also in the ceremony were Chiefs of the AFP Joint, Personal and Special Staff in the General Headquarters, Major Generals Reuben S Basiao, Deputy Chief of Staff for Intelligence, J2; Cornelio H Valencia Jr, Deputy Chief of Staff for Plans, J5; Antonio G Parlade Jr, Deputy Chief of Staff for Civil Military Operations, J7; Augusto D Dela Peña, Deputy Chief of Staff for Training and Education, J8; Thomas R Sedaño Jr, Chief of the Office of Financial Management; and Arnulfo C Matanguihan, The Inspector General, AFP.

Several Philippine Army Commanders also took oath yesterday. These were Major Generals Jose C Faustino Jr, Commander of 10th Infantry Division; Byron H Calimag, Commander of Army Support Command; Pablo M Lorenzo, Commander of 5th Infantry Division; Lenard T Agustin, Commander of 7th Infantry Division; and Franco Nemesio M Gacal, Commander 4th Infantry Division.

Among Philippine Air Force Commanders who took oath in Malacañang were Major Generals Gerald S Da-Anton, Commander of Air Defense Command; and Glicerio G Peralta, Commander of Tactical Operations Center.

The Navy officers were Rear Admiral Loumer P Bernabe, Chief of Naval Staff; Brigadier General Renato P David, Commander of Joint Task Force Malampaya; and Reserve Commodore Carlos C Buendia, Commander of the 2nd Technical and Administrative Services Brigade, Northern Luzon Command.